Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued lightning warning in 15 districts of the state.

As per a bulletin of the local meteorological centre here, lightning is likely to occur Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Balasore, Bhadrak, Angul, Jajpur, Nayagarh, Kandhamal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Khurda, Jagatsinghpur and Dhenkanal districts.

The alert would remain in effect till 5:30 pm.

It has advised people in these 15 districts to remain indoors during this period and move to safe locations like concrete houses to avoid any untoward incident.