Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued lightning warning in 16 districts of the state.

As per a bulletin of the local meteorological centre here, lightning is likely to occur alakangiri, Koraput, Kalahandi, Rayagada, Gajapati, Nayagarh, Cuttack, Boudh, Sonepur, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Jajpur, Mayurbhanj and Balasore districts.

The alert would remain in effect till 7:15 pm.

It has advised people in these 16 districts to remain indoors during this period and move to safe locations like concrete houses to avoid any untoward incident.